List of National Parks by State


As of the 2010 US Census, the United States has 58 protected areas known as U.S. National Parks, including two in US Territories. Not all states have a US National Park, and some states have several. Here is a list of national parks by state. 

List of all US National Parks by StateThe first national park was established in 1872, and the most recent national park was so designated in 2004. Many people are surprised to discover that more than half of our national parks in the United States have only received national park status within the last 50 years, which requires an act of Congress.

This page contains a list of US National Parks organized by states. Some parks overlap state boundaries, so will be listed more than once.

states with no national parks

Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachuesetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, DC, West Virginia, and Wisconsin have no national parks.

The state of Alaska has 8 national parks. It ties with California for the state with most national parks.

American Samoa
The territory of American Samoa has one national park:

The State of Arizona has 3 national parks:

Arkansas has one national park:

There are eight national parks in the State of California. California ties with Alaska for the state with most national parks.

The state of Colorado has four national parks:

  • Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park
  • Great Sand Dunes National Park
  • Mesa Verde National Park
  • Rocky Mountain National Park

Florida has three national parks:

  • Biscayne National Park
  • Dry Tortugas National Park
  • Everglades National Park

Hawaii has two national parks:

  • Haleakala National Park
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

There is only one Idaho national park:

  • Yellowstone National Park

There is only one Kentucky national park:

  • Mammoth Cave National Park

There is only one Maine national park:

There is also only one Michigan national park:

  • Isle Royale National Park

There is one Minnesota national park:

  • Voyageurs National Park

There are two Montana national parks:

  • Glacier National Park
  • Yellowstone National Park

There are two Nevada national parks:

New Mexico
There is one New Mexico national park:

  • Carlsbad Caverns National Park

North Carolina National Parks
There is also only one North Carolina national park:

  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park

North Dakota
And there is one North Dakota national park:

  • Theodore Roosevelt National Park

There is one Ohio national park:

  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park

There is one Oregon national park:

South Carolina
There is one South Carolina national park:

  • Congaree National Park

South Dakota
There are two South Dakota national parks:

  • Badlands National Park
  • Wind Cave National Park

There is one Tennessee national park:

  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park

There are two Texas national parks.

  • Big Bend National Park
  • Guadalupe Mountains National Park

There are five Utah national parks:

  • Arches National Park
  • Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Capitol Reef National Park
  • Canyonlands National Park
  • Zion National Park

US Virgin Islands
There is one US Virgin Islands national park:

There is one Virginia national park:

  • Shenandoah National Park

There are three Washington national parks:

  • Mount Rainier National Park
  • North Cascades National Park
  • Olympic National Park

There are two Wyoming national parks:

  • Grand Teton National Park
  • Yellowstone National Park