Other NPS Protected Areas

Other NPS Protected Areas

There are 11 NPS units of other designations, as well as other affiliated areas. The National Mall and national capital parks have many sites, some of which are also units of other designations and some are also national historic sites.

There are also various administrative groups of listed parks, such as Manhattan Sites, National Parks of New York Harbor, and Western Arctic National Parklands. The NPS also owns conservation easements (but not the land itself) for part of the area called the Green Springs National Historic Landmark District.

Name Location
Catoctin Mountain Park Maryland
Ice Age National Scientific Reserve (affiliated area) Wisconsin
International Peace Garden (affiliated area) North Dakota/Manitoba
Inupiat Heritage Center (affiliated area) Alaska
Maine Acadian Culture (affiliated area) Maine
National Capital Parks

  • National Capital Parks-East (administrative unit of the National Park Service)
    • Anacostia Park
    • Baltimore-Washington Parkway
    • Capitol Hill Parks
    • Carter G. Woodson Home National Historic Site
    • Fort Dupont Park
    • Fort Foote Park
    • Fort Washington Park (official unit of other designation)
    • Frederick Douglass National Historic Site
    • Greenbelt Park (official unit of other designation)
    • Harmony Hall (Fort Washington, Maryland)
    • Kenilworth Park and Aquatic Gardens
    • Mary McLeod Bethune Council House National Historic Site
    • Oxon Cove Park and Oxon Hill Farm
    • Oxon Run Parkway (affiliated area)
    • Piscataway Park (official unit of other designation)
    • Sewall-Belmont House National Historic Site (affiliated area)
    • Suitland Parkway
  • National Mall and Memorial Parks (administrative unit of the National Park Service – formerly National Capital Parks-Central)
    • African American Civil War Memorial
    • Constitution Gardens (official unit of other designation)
    • East Potomac Park
    • Ford's Theatre National Historic Site
    • Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
    • George Mason Memorial
    • Thomas Jefferson Memorial
    • John Ericsson National Memorial
    • Korean War Veterans Memorial
    • Lincoln Memorial
    • National Mall
    • Pennsylvania Avenue National Historic Site
    • Old Post Office Pavilion
    • United States Navy Memorial
    • Vietnam Veterans Memorial
    • Washington Monument
    • West Potomac Park
  • White House/President's Park
  • Rock Creek Park
    • Dumbarton Oaks Park
    • Battleground National Cemetery
    • Meridian Hill Park
    • Old Stone House
    • Peirce Mill
    • Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway
Washington, D.C./Maryland
New Jersey Coastal Heritage Trail Route (affiliated area) New Jersey
Prince William Forest Park Virginia
Roosevelt Campobello International Park (affiliated area) New Brunswick
Wing Luke Museum of the Asian Pacific American Experience (affiliated area)[5] Washington
Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts Virginia

Disbanded other areas

Name Established Disbanded Result
National Visitor Center, Washington, D.C. March 12, 1968 December 29, 1981 transferred to Department of Transportation.
John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts June 16, 1972 July 21, 1994 transferred to Kennedy Center Trustees.

Latest Articles:

Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge

The Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge was created in 1973 when the Union Camp Corporation of Franklin, Virginia, donated 49,100 acres (199 km2) of land to The Nature Conservancy, which the following year transferred the property to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Indian Bayou State Wildlife Area

Indian Bayou State Wildlife Area is a cultural feature park in Sharkey County, in Western Mississippi.