Michigan State Parks

Michigan National and State Parks and Recreation

The state of Michigan has one national park, 79 State Parks, 28 State Forests, 1 State Fish Hatchery, 1 State Reserve, 1 State Nursery, 2 State Wildlife Areas, 1 State Wildlife Management Area,1 State Fish Hatchery, 4 National Forests, 1 National Wildlife Area, 5 National Wildlife Refuges, and 16 Wilderness Areas.

Michigan National Parks

State Parks

State Forests

State Fish Hatchery

State Reserve

  • Beaver Islands Wildlife Research Area

State Nursery

State Wildlife Areas

  • State Wildlife Management Area

National Forests

National Wildlife Area

National Wildlife Refuges

  • Harbor Island National Wildlife Refuge  
  • Huron National Wildlife Refuge  
  • Kirtlands Warbler Wildlife Management Area  
  • Michigan Wetland Management District  
  • Michigan Islands National Wildlife Refuge  
  • Seney National Wildlife Refuge  
  • Shiawassee National Wildlife Refuge

Michigan Wilderness Areas

There are sixteen wilderness areas in the state of Michigan.

  • Beaver Basin Wilderness
  • Big Island Lake Wilderness
  • Delirium Wilderness
  • Horseshoe Bay Wilderness
  • Huron Islands
  • Isle Royale National Park
  • Mackinac Wilderness
  • McCormick Wilderness
  • Michigan Islands Wilderness Area
  • Nordhouse Dunes Wilderness
  • Rock River Canyon Wilderness
  • Round Island (Michigan)
  • Seney Wilderness
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes Wilderness
  • Sturgeon River Gorge Wilderness
  • Sylvania Wilderness