Washington DC Parks

Washington DC Parks and Recreation

The District of Columbia has four national historic sites, eleven national memorials, four national parkways, three historic trails, and numerous other protected areas.






Washington D.C. National Historic Sites

  • Fords Theatre National Historic Site
  • Frederick Douglass National Historic Site

Washington D.C. National Memorials

  •  Adams Memorial
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial
  • Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
  • Korean War Veterans Memorial
  • Lincoln Memorial
  • Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove on the Potomac
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
  • Theodore Roosevelt Island National Memorial
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial
  • World War II Memorial

National Parkways

  • Baltimore-Washington Parkway
  • Clara Barton Parkway (formerly part of the George Washington Memorial Parkway)
  • Oxon Run Parkway (affiliated area)
  • Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway (affiliated area)

National Historic Trails

  • Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail
  • Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail (one of the 401 official units)
  • Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail

Other National Park Service Protected Areas

    • National Capital Parks
      • National Capital Parks-East (administrative unit of the National Park Service)
      • Anacostia Park
      • Baltimore-Washington Parkway
      • Capitol Hill Parks
      • Carter G. Woodson Home National Historic Site
      • Fort Dupont Park
      • Fort Foote Park
      • Fort Washington Park (official unit of other designation)
      • Frederick Douglass National Historic Site Greenbelt Park (official unit of other designation)
      • Kenilworth Park and Aquatic Gardens
      • Mary McLeod Bethune Council House National Historic Site
      • Oxon Cove Park and Oxon Hill Farm
      • Oxon Run Parkway (affiliated area)
      • Piscataway Park (official unit of other designation)
      • Sewall-Belmont House National Historic Site (affiliated area)
      • Suitland Parkway
      • National Mall and Memorial Parks (administrative unit of the National Park Service – formerly National Capital Parks-Central)
      • African American Civil War Memorial
      • Constitution Gardens (official unit of other designation)
      • East Potomac Park
      • Ford’s Theatre National Historic Site
      • Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
      • George Mason Memorial
      • Thomas Jefferson Memorial
      • John Ericsson National Memorial
      • Korean War Veterans Memorial
      • Lincoln Memorial
      • National Mall
      • Pennsylvania Avenue National Historic Site
      • Old Post Office Pavilion
      • United States Navy Memorial
      • Vietnam Veterans Memorial
      • Washington Monument
      • West Potomac Park
      • White House/President’s Park
      • Rock Creek Park
      • Dumbarton Oaks Park
      • Battleground National Cemetery
      • Meridian Hill Park
      • Old Stone House
      • Peirce Mill
      • Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway
    • Main Interior – Isabelle Story (1888–1970), Secretary to Director Mather, Acting Director, “editor in Chief.”

Disbanded other areas

  • National Visitor Center (transferred to Department of Transportation)
  • John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (transferred to Kennedy Center Trustees)