The United States Congress designated the Fitzpatrick Wilderness in 1976 and it now has a total of 198,525 acres. All of this wilderness is located in Wyoming and is managed by the Forest Service. The Fitzpatrick Wilderness is bordered by the Bridger Wilderness to the southwest. (more…)

The Wilderness Act of 1964 gave a legal definition of wilderness in the United States:

“A wilderness, in contrast with those areas where man and his own works dominate the landscape, is hereby recognized as an area where the earth and community of life are untrammeled by man, where man himself is a visitor who does not remain.”

The passage of the Act established the National Wilderness Preservation System (NWPS) to protect the then 9 million acres of federal land officially recognized as U.S. wilderness.

Wilderness Areas D – F


            • Dark Canyon Wilderness

            • Darwin Falls Wilderness

            • Dead Mountains Wilderness

            • Death Valley Wilderness

            • Deep Creek North Wilderness

            • Deep Creek Wilderness

            • Delamar Mountains Wilderness

            • Delirium Wilderness

            • Denali Wilderness

            • Deseret Peak Wilderness

            • Desolation Wilderness

            • Devils Backbone Wilderness

            • Diamond Peak Wilderness

            • Dick Smith Wilderness

            • Dinkey Lakes Wilderness

            • Doc’s Pass Wilderness

            • Dolly Sods Wilderness

            • Dome Wilderness

            • Domeland Wilderness

            • Dominguez Canyon Wilderness

            • Dos Cabezas Mountains Wilderness

            • Drift Creek Wilderness

            • Dry Creek Wilderness


            • Eagle Cap Wilderness

            • Eagles Nest Wilderness

            • Eagletail Mountains Wilderness

            • East Cactus Plain Wilderness

            • East Fork High Rock Canyon Wilderness

            • East Fork Wilderness

            • East Humboldts Wilderness

            • El Paso Mountains Wilderness

            • El Toro Wilderness

            • Eldorado Wilderness

            • Elkhorn Ridge Wilderness

            • Ellicott Rock Wilderness

            • Emigrant Wilderness

            • Endicott River Wilderness

            • Escudilla Wilderness


            • Far South Egans Wilderness

            • Farallon Wilderness

            • Fish Creek Mountains Wilderness

            • Fishhooks Wilderness

            • Flat Tops Wilderness

            • Flatside Wilderness

            • Florida Keys Wilderness

            • Forrester Island Wilderness

            • Fort Niobrara Wilderness

            • Fortification Range Wilderness

            • Fossil Ridge Wilderness